3 things to Remember this holiday season that some of you “might” forget to do….

I started the day out weepy, a woman I was blessed to call my friend died yesterday after a long struggle with cancer.  I don’t use “struggle” for all people I’ve known with cancer, but for Elissa, I couldn’t explain it any other way.  She was one of the most courageous people I’ve met in my life.  She is my inspiration for today’s post…..

As we prepare for Christmas or Hanukkah or whatever holiday we celebrate this season, are we really celebrating?  Are we focused on the spirit of the holiday or focused, rather on the trivial aspects that fill so many of our days, especially this time (but not limited to) of year?

What if this was your last holiday,  would you be happy with how you prepared for the season?  If you hesitate for a moment, let me off 3 very simple things to consider over the next few days……

1.  Forgiveness.  Are you holding onto grudges, unable to forgive others for mistakes they’ve knowingly (or more often “unknowingly”) made?

“Anger is an acid that can do more harm to the vessel in which it is stored than to anything on which it is poured.” Mark Twain.  

Are you holding onto anger?  Is there someone this holiday season you need to forgive?  LET IT GO!!!! Anger grounds us to the earth and keeps us stuck in a way few other emotions do.  Consider it the gift you give yourself, to forgive others, and see how your spirit/mood/light is lifted this holiday season and beyond.

2.  Love.  I heard the other day the most beautiful quote….no idea who it is from but it is this:

Love is spelled T-I-M-E. ” author unknown.  

Are you spending more time on social media than you are with those in front of you?  LOVE the people in your life with your whole heart, you will NEVER forget a moment in life that you do….and believe me when I say, you will certainly live many moments in regret for those you chose not to do so.  Tomorrow is not guaranteed for any of us, live in the present.  Consider that, your most precious of presents to give another.

3.  Remember.  

“Holidays are about experiences and people, and turning what you feel like doing at the moment….” Evelyn Glennie.  

Remember why we celebrate whatever holiday we celebrate.  It isn’t for the presents under the tree, or the foods we eat, or the carefully coordinated tree and decorations or menorah or whatever is in our home.  Yes, those are all lovely and special….but if they all went away, would we still hold the spirit of the holiday in our heart?

Wishing all of you a very blessed holiday season.
Peace…… and Love……

Leave a comment