Showing up in life….does it matter?

Exhausted on day 21, I think, of my 30 day yoga challenge.  Today….I got up, went to yoga, and was committing only to show up.  Sometimes, that’s all we can do.  Show up.

There is an interesting thing that happens when we commit to doing something daily…an internal dialogue of really, why am I doing this?  Why does it matter?  Who would know if I skipped a day, or two, or three?  But the longer I practice, the more I realize it is ME.  I am doing this for me.  And I matter.  And if I didn’t show up, I’d know. Just like running (marathons) or writing or meditation or however others fill lives with practices that give us meaning.  Why am I doing all of this?  Because in some small and some large ways, it gives me meaning beyond my roles as wife and mother and daughter and therapist and ….. it gives me meaning in some very selfish ways that really, aren’t selfish at all.  The more I do, the more I feel grounded and centered in all the roles in life I play, and perhaps that’s really reason it’s important that I show up!  (I’d like to think it’s to learn a handstand one day…but I’m guessing there’s more to it…)  

So does it matter if I show up? YES.  Just like it matters for everyone else in this world.  Even if you don’t “feel” like showing up.  It matters.  Maybe you don’t know your reason, yet?

So I show up at class this morningExhausted.  Sore.  Feeling outta sorts.  Few moments in, I’m reminded of the beauty of just taking a few minutes to sit in quiet and focus on breathe. When was the last time you did that?  (Yogi’s, need not respond to this question.)  Did it matter that I experienced reconnecting with my breathe?  Take a few moments today and see….see what it does for you. 

…..side note…….

I have this theory or belief (not sure which it is yet, or does it need to be one or the other) that true happiness is fully actualized when there is an immersion of mind/body/spirit.  When we focus on one, others can suffer.  When we neglect one, we can be off balance.  For each person, there is a different road map for how we get that that place….finding “true happiness”…..

For me…it is a combination of many factors:  Writing/meditation/reading (mind), Running/yoga/bike riding/eating healthy/vegetarian (body) and Volunteering/mentoring/practicing faith/charity work (spirit).  I work at it DAILY.  All of this, takes work.  But isn’t happiness worth the effort?

Try as many a client may to convince/argue with me the belief that “money makes people happy”….I will continue to believe/teach/counsel others and PRACTICE MYSELF this…..happiness is NOT found at Nordstorm or Barneys or Lululemon (though I really, really love their yoga and running attire…so that’s negotiable.) Rather, happiness comes from within…..in accepting self, in making our own path, in filling our lives with meaning and meaningful people to share our lives.  In giving to others.  In finding our own meaning of spirituality.  In learning to think for ourselves, and having the courage to share our thoughts with others….

Ahh……so that’s it!!!! 

The meaning for me behind the “recurring” theme of today’s yoga session.

“The heart guides us where the mind would never have the courage to go.” Megan, yoga teacher. 

My heart wants others to understand this “belief”, true happiness comes in the immersion of mind/body and spirit.  How I wish I “knew” this years ago, it doesn’t come in a department store, it doesn’t come at the end of a bottle (ok, a really great bottle of Chianti, maybe? I’m kidding….mostly) and it doesn’t come in the focusing of one (mind/body/spirit) at the expense of the other.  

So my “heart” wants others to know…and my “mind” is trying to have the courage to accept the  path that could unfold in front of me as I allow my heart to lead me to my real purpose in life.  It’s FRIGHTENING!  But amazingly deliciously fantastic too! 

If I “didn’t show up” today, I wouldn’t have heard this message.  So…does it matter if we show up in life?  What do you think?

Peace…….

 

Leave a comment