Peace in the journey….. The next chapter, and new project.

This is my second attempt at writing this blog.  Last night as I was about to publish, my computer shut down for no apparent reason.  More startling was when I realized, I hadn’t saved my blog.  Sigh…..I went to bed.

I’ve been blogging for almost 2 years.  Amazing how many things have happened and changed in my life, and the life of those around me in that time.

When I started blogging, the original intent was to get into the practice of sitting down to actual write more regularly.  However, my stretch goal has always been to write a book. 

A book?  Even writing those words seems almost too lofty of a goal for me.  I can almost hear that inner voice saying “why on Earth would anyone want to ready a book you wrote, your life and views on the world aren’t really all that interesting!”  Inner voice me isn’t all that kind.  Right? But somewhere along the way it dawned on me, it isn’t “just” about me telling my story because arguably it isn’t all that compelling, rather along the way in my life I’ve met some truly inspiring people and their stories need to be shared too!

So the concept has begun….the next chapter, or project.  Starting to talk with others and share their personal stories of struggle or hardships and how they have found their own personal journeys towards living a more peaceful life.  I have my first two “interviews” of sorts scheduled for later this week. Yay!

So how does hearing someone else’s story help us in our own journey?

For example:  I worked with people with cancer for most of my career.  Early on, I met this older woman named “Sarah”.  Sarah was a volunteer at our front desk.  She would answer phones with an angelic, soft supportive voice, stuffed envelopes and do whatever task we asked of her.  She was also an excellent quilter, often donating the quilts she would make for auction.  One day, I was out on maternity leave with my 2nd son, and in walks Sarah to my home.  She was the first person from my job to see my newborn.  With her comes this lovely quilt, all hand stitched with her love.  I was in awe.  Having an opportunity to finally talk with her outside of the work place, I was able to hear her story.  Up until now…she was this lovely older woman who volunteered.  For some reason, I had never asked her what brought her to volunteer at my work.  Sarah began to tell me of her original diagnosis of stage IV melanoma, and her more recent diagnosis of colon cancer.  She also talked about her issues with heart disease, and the struggles of aging.  Tragic, right?  However, working in oncology for so long, I am able to sadly say this part of her story wasn’t all that unique, and while it does show a glimmer of the strength this 80ish year old woman possessed, her story was not done.  She then proceeded to tell me of witnessing her twin children both hit by a car, and killed, right in front of her eyes.  Right in front of her.  I was in shock.  I asked her….

“Sarah…oh my gosh, however did you go on after that?”

Her response simply…”What choice did I have? I had 2 other children and a husband who needed me.  I had to make the choice to live my life for them. It never occurred to me to give up.”

And wow! Did she.  Not only did she choose to keep on going, no matter what life presented to her, but she did so with such dignity and grace and strength, often giving to others.  Giving to others, that was what brought Sarah peace.  I have never forgotten her words.

It is stories like Sarah’s that makes me want to write.  I want others to know that no matter what happens in our life, we can always choose peace.  We can always choose love.  We can always choose happiness.  It isn’t living a problem free life that allows for us to live a peaceful and happy life, rather it is in finding the strength to make the decision- making in making necessary changes or seeking professional help or praying or meditating or cleaning house of friends who hurt us or in daily making the statement that “I’m worth and the world is worth having me choose peace.”

I might’ve used this before but I still love it…

“We can never obtain peace in the outer world until we make peace with ourselves.” Dalai Lama.

So…if you know someone who has a story to tell, or you are that story…please comment and let me know so I can share your story, as part of my new journey or chapter in life.  We all have a story to tell…..and yours may be a gift to someone else who is not as far along on his/her life journey.

Peace…..

Leave a comment