love letter to Father Kohmescher (Grandpa “K” to me)

In the spirit of honoring the memory of my UD years…. my love letter to my favorite professor at UD. 

http://udquickly.udayton.edu/udmagazine/2014/03/warm-and-fuzzy/

The quarterly newsletter arrived today and the first page I opened was to my beloved “Grandpa K.”  When I first read the article, tears filled my eyes remembering this dear man.  Click on the article, how can you not love that sweet/kind angelic face?

He was the greater for prospective students for YEARS.  I’m quite amazed that every single person didn’t want to attend UD after meeting him, as his warmth and kind nature exuded from every pore of his body.  He was, in my opinion, the human form of “WWJD?” (aka “what would Jesus do?”) before it was cool to wear that on your wrist.

At first I read the article and I was a little bummed….why didn’t I have a “Fuzzy” button?  Seriously, how silly is that?  I really wondered why I was almost jealous that I was never given a button from him (when it seems they’re nearly EVERYWHERE)…..but then this overwhelming sense of peace came over me as I remembered he was so special to me.

He was my professor for Christianity Today (he has published books on this subject) & Theology of Sexuality.                                                                                                      *******(My minor is in religious studies, although going to a Catholic college, that is really not that difficult to accomplish since each student is required to take a certain number of philosophy and/or religion classes no matter your degree.)

What I remembered from this red/blue beanie wearing Marianists priest, who at the time seemed to be 110+ years old to me, was his ability to convey a genuine sense of compassion and interest in every single one of his students.  While I would like for a moment to think I was his only favorite, I am cognizant that was just his way.  We were all his favorites.  When I think about my faith and my endless journey in attempting to understand God (whoever we envision God to be…I don’t want to make this a religious blog today), I think of him.  I think of his beaming smile, and his calming nature.  I think of his non-judgemental nature, that challenged you to be a better person awhile knowing you are exactly the person that God wants you to be.  Sigh….I just loved being in his presence.

So when I think for a moment, how envious I am that I do not possess a “fuzzy” button, I remember this….Father (aka “Grandpa K”) and I had many in-depth, meaningful, philosophical discussions on faith, morality, forgiveness, and love.  He encouraged me when I needed to be encouraged, and challenged me when I needed to get up and do something more with my life.  He came to my college graduation party, arriving just in time to see my best friend doing a keg stand (wow, I looked pretty darn good right about then didn’t I?  sigh….I ‘might’ve’ done one later……) and just sat and giggled along with my parents.  We kept in touch after graduation, often writing letters and updating each other on our lives.  While he seemed to be older than life itself to me, and could’ve easily retired into solitary contemplative state somewhere….he worked up until almost his last days on Earth….inspiring and loving every single person he touched in life. I asked him to marry my husband and myself, and regret in some ways today that he couldn’t be there…but know he was in spirit (something about having to do something for UD…blah, blah, blah….. I write, jokingly…)

I drove down to see him the fall of 2006.  I felt compelled to in some way.  I hadn’t seen him since I graduated in 1993.  But he had always been a part of my life and I missed him.  I remember driving up to campus and nervously walking to the Founder’s Hall, where you’d often find him hanging out in case anyone wanted to talk to him….as I approached, uncertain if he’d even remember little ole me, his eyes lit up and embraced me in love.  We sat and talked for hours, and when I think real hard, I can still hear his gentle voice…..

While I’m so excited for my college to be in the playoffs for so many reasons, most of which I love others to hear about this little college in the southwest corner of Ohio….I’d be remiss if I didn’t take a moment to honor Grandpa K.  And while I’m sad I don’t have a “fuzzy” pin seemingly many others do, I feel so blessed to have had the unique relationship I did with him and honored I got to call him “Grandpa K.”

“A friend is someone who knows all about you and still loves you.” Elbert Hubbard

Yes…this sums up Father Kohmescher.

Peace…….

Leave a comment