“Yoohoo”….it’s what’s for breakfast?

 

Apparently I had some technical difficulties with my blog post yesterday…so I’m editing and adding to it a bit….

8:30 a.m.  I’m in the checkout and the man behind me is buying 2 items.  Yoohoo and a small canister of pringles.  At 8:30 a.m.  Really? For breakfast?

When I looked up to find out what it actually is, I read Yoohoo is “An American chocolate beverage”…..kinda vague, don’t you think?

So what does this have to do with finding peace? 

Since January 1, I have been on a “mostly” juice fast/feast (which means I drink mostly vegetable and fruit juices- with a large emphasis on juicing dark, leafy greens.) Best “items” I now own….my new Breville juicer, new Ninja blender and my old standby Kitchen Aid mixer which has nothing to do with this journey but I still totally love it!

I started this journey partly to try to lose the last pounds I haven’t been able to shake off/run off/or now yoga-off….. but more because…ok being honest it was almost entirely to lose the weight I haven’t been able to in the last 6 months- or more like 4-5 years.   I so wish I had a more altruistic reason for wanting to juice initially, but there ya go.  Writing it sounds so shallow and exactly the person I strive to “not” be.

However, on this journey, I really have found it to be so much more than ‘just losing weight”….

2 weeks in….I’ve learned

  • Food is social.  It’s such an inherent part of our culture, I don’t know why I didn’t really think about how difficult that part of the juice fast/feast would be.  I’ve had to turn down dinner invites and going over to friends’ houses because, initially, it was just too difficult to be surrounded by food and not completely obsess about wanting to eat. However, quite quickly I found I am able to be around others and in fact have had friends over and prepared snacks for them (and meals daily for my family) and I’m completely ok with “not” eating.
  • We really need to eat so much less than we think we do.  Of course, I can’t stay in this juice fast/feast endlessly, but for now, I do realize I need to “eat” much less than I had been.  I’m somewhat ashamed at how much I’ve eaten that I didn’t need to eat over the years…..
  • When you can’t “eat”…creativity with herbal tea flavors becomes a must-do event.  And drinking tea throughout the day really is relaxing.  Peaceful.  I so miss my Venti Nonfat Chai latte from Starbucks, but I’m learning to relish the simplicity of peppermint tea in my manatee mug.
  • In 2 days, I’ve been told by 2 different people who my skin looks really good- GLOWING is how they described it.  Wow…so all these years I’ve heard that hydration helps your skin, perhaps it’s really true? That or my skin looked really bad before?  Hmmm….
  • Kale, spinach, romaine lettuce really have subtle flavor in juices.  Who knew?
  • Avacado is fantastic in a smoothie.  Seriously delicious with banana, spinach, coconut water and mango.  Again, who knew?

Finally, I’ve by not “eating” per say, I’ve been able to really focus on finding an inner peace with who I am and where I want to go on this journey.  I’ve rested more (my body probably needed it after the holidays), I’ve tried vegetable combinations in new and yes exciting ways, I’ve focused more on slowing down and meditating and yoga (3 things I have been aspiring to do for over a year), and I’ve found a greater sense of peace…..

Yes….all from starting to look, even in this small way, at my world differently….

Peace………

 

1 thought on ““Yoohoo”….it’s what’s for breakfast?

  1. So I should ditch the “all you can eat” coupon I’ve been saving for our initial DWD Spring kickoff meeting in Frankenmuth, huh? I think a visit to the local juice bar at any Greek/Mediterranean restaurant would do us all some good! 😉

Leave a comment