peace….and what’s wrong with a 26.2 sticker on your car?

A friend of mine told me about an article he read in the Wall Street journal entitled           “Ok, you’re a runner, get over it.”, asking me what I thought about it. The author had very strong opinions about the 26.2 stickers or magnets many marathon runners put on their cars.  Perhaps not shockingly, I did have an opinion.

http://online.wsj.com/news/articles/SB10001424052702304448204579186401818882202

In case you don’t read the article, the author dislikes the 26.2 stickers that many marathon runners display on their cars (signifying the distance of all marathons), so much so he felt the need to write (and the Wall Street Journal published) an article on it.

My question would be, why does he care? And how is this newsworthy?

How many cars do I pass with stickers on the back displaying how many kids/pets they have in their family?  Do I have the stickers on my car?  No.  But do I defend their right/desire to display on their cars/minivans?  Absolutely!  Do I write an entire article on it, Um…no.

How many people have their alma maters on their license plates or back window?  Do I?  Yes….Ok, I have very strong opinions about my alma mater (University of Dayton)….Is that OK? Would said author have an issue with this as well?  Perhaps because it’s an “accomplishment” the author would have less of an opposing opinion to it?  Perhaps he would view it as something “worthy” to boast?

Well, to him I say this……have you ever trained for and run a marathon?  Have you sacrificed going out with friends, getting up early, going to bed early, focused on a goal for months and months and struggled with pain in order to achieve a goal?

Do I think one should celebrate that accomplishment and be able to tell others about it?  ABSOLUTELY!

One comment in response to the article states ….. (paraphrasing)….the stickers are much more related to the “community” of runners than to “boast” about what one has done.  I couldn’t agree more.  It’s like a “runners” flag of sorts.  Everyone who has trained for and run a marathon knows it’s hard work, and takes a certain amount of dedication and perseverance.  I’m perplexed why this would evoke negative feelings from anyone?

Why all the hating?

If he/she wants to put a “0.0” sticker on his/her car and be proud he/she doesn’t exercise (except I suspect this has much more to do with the distaste of the “26.2” stickers than over pride of “not” exercising or running….but ok) then have it!  But by all means, do not hate on people for accomplishing a goal.  For every person I’ve inspired to start running, contemplate running, run beside, watched crossed the finish line or obtain a PR (personal best), I wholeheartedly support your putting whatever sticker or magnet on your car,  wearing whatever running achievement garb you have, or getting whatever tattoo you want to celebrate!  And Wow am I thankful that I live in such a country that allows (and hopefully encourages me) to do so.

Peace…..and Happy Running……

1 thought on “peace….and what’s wrong with a 26.2 sticker on your car?

  1. Your post was absolutely spot on! Glad you nailed the two big ones I was thinking of before I even opened the post (Those family decals and college alumni swag).

    Running is an accomplishment, just like going to college or being proud of your family. say plaster your car with stickers of whatever you’re proud of! 🙂

Leave a comment