Peace….and teenagers (another running edition) and cross country.

I love cross-country.  Why did I not run in high school?

I spent 4 days “up north” with 22 High School Cross Country kids this past week.  Let me start to clarify for those outside of Michigan a few things…..

What is “up north?”

  • No, it does not necessarily mean the “Upper Peninsula, aka the UP” but it can be.
  • Yes, it does include areas that aren’t necessarily “up north” but rather to the far west of the state (i.e. Saugatuck or South Haven)  that are actually more south than north of Metro Detroit.
  • Yes, it does include most of the state of Michigan that is outside of Metro Detroit.
  • Yes, everyone in Michigan understands the above unwritten rules.
  • And yes, it is appropriate and commonplace (and perhaps enviable for those residing in other states) to use your hand as map for point of reference.

For clarification, I was actually in the northern mid section of the lower peninsula.  Far way for the traffic and the pace of the city, surrounded by pine trees as far as the eye could see.

I chaperoned my son’s cross-country camp along with 3 coaches.  Each day, the teens would run in the morning…..goof around all day….and then run in the afternoon.  They’d run up/down hills (something we don’t have down in the city), they’d run on the dirt roads, they’d run through the snowmobile trails, they’d run together, often silently gliding along with one another for miles and miles.

I decided to run most of the runs with them while I was there.  Yes, me….a 42-year-old late to running mother of 2 decided I’d try to keep up with these kids, many of whom had been running for longer than I had been!

I pushed myself to keep pace and often was just behind the kids, but thought to myself, “hey, I’m a 42-year-old mother of 2, I’m pretty happy I can even get out there and sorta keep up with them!” I tried to chit-chat with them along the way, forgetting sometimes that I am indeed a “42 year old…” and perhaps they didn’t really want to chit-chat with me, but they were all sweet and obliged.  At least to my face…..Sigh……

I left camp with a new appreciation of the sport.  Although I’ve been a runner, and a distance runner, for over 8 years, I sometimes still feel like there is still so much I need to learn about the sport.  I enjoyed seeing it through the eyes of the kids on the team.

When people are quick to judge all teens as bad, or trouble….I wish they could have had a few moments to see what I did for days on end.

22 teens, some with fantastic athletic ability and some who are in the sport perhaps for other reasons (to get in shape or to be a part of a team sport).  22 teens, most with high academic achievements and all with academic standards I think much higher than I had for myself at their age.  22 teens, involved in ministry and service and committed to serving God.  22 teens, goofy and gangly and all together beautiful.  22 teens, more concerned with having fun together on a run than pushing each other down.  22 teens, all waiting until the very last runner came back from his/her run to start with the next activity.  22 teens, more supporters than competitors and more family than just team members.

Why did I not run cross-country?

I was a cheerleader, a tennis player and a basketball player all for about a minute.  Basketball player?  Yes, really…..I’m 5 foot 3 inches on a “tall day” so really, not surprising that one didn’t last, eh?

But watching these kids, I was constantly reminded of my love for the sport, and the discipline each and every one has to have in his/her own way.  Discipline to run, even when their hurting.  Discipline to run, even if they aren’t the fastest kid on the field.  Discipline to run, not as a punishment for messing up in their sport of choice but rather because it IS THEIR SPORT OF CHOICE.  RUNNING.  SIMPLY FOR THE LOVE OF AND UNDERSTANDING OF THE BENEFITS OF THE SPORT.

Loved being a part of it.

Searching for a quote….this reminded me of the spirit of the kids, or teens, or young adults I had the privilege, yes, privilege to chaperone this past weekend….

“What defines us isn’t how many times you crash, but the number of times you get back up.” Sarah Dessen.   

It isn’t so much those who are gifted and win the race than impress me (oh yes….they are amazing, don’t get me wrong), but the kids who run the race, even if they know they have no ability (for now) to win.

When people ask me why I run the race (marathons) even if I know I have no chance of winning (ok, “people” really means my youngest son…..), I can explain it as simply as this……

If I focus on winning as my only goal, then I am missing the point of the journey…….

Peace, and Happy Running…… and go hug a cross county kid!

(not in a creepy way, however….)

Leave a comment